Kilmoganny has a long tradition of football in Kilkenny. Prior to the foundation of the present club the players from Kilmoganny played with clubs such as Coolagh, Lamogue and Cotterstown.

The Present club was founded in 194 1. The first Chairman was Paddy Moran and the Secretary was Frances O'Brien.

The first major victory for Kilmoganny footballers was the Southern Junior championship of 1945, a team on which Pierce Barry, Jimmy Walsh Paddy Egan, Neddy Moran, JimmyHearns, Pat Noonan, Jimmy Cahill, Pat Dunne and Patsy Hawe played. They had lost the previous year to Glenmore 3-4 to 0-3, but in 1945 Glenmore gave them a walk over in the final. They were well-beaten in the county final (30 June 1946) by St. John's, 4-9 to 0-3.

Kilmoganny beat Glenmore in the southern final of 1949 by a point, 2-2 to 1-4. Railyard beat them in the final (19 February 1950) by 2-4 to 0-3.

Kilmoganny won two minor football championships in succession in the 1950s, 1952 and 1953, both against Railyard. On 30 November 1952 they beat Railyard 2-1 to 1-2. On 16 May 1953 they won 0-7 to 0-5. Sean Butler captained both teams.

The success at minor level was a harbinger of things to come for the following year. Kilmoganny won the county junior final. In the southern final of 1955 against Coolagh they were beaten by 1-2 to 0-0. Kilmoganny objected and a replay was ordered. This Kilmoganny won by 2-1 to 0-4. They went on to beat St. Kieran's, Johnstown, in the county final (9 June 1955), 2-8 to 1-6.

For the senior championship Kilmoganny teamed up with Cotterstown and called themselves St. Nicholas'. In the 1957 championship they lost to their old antagonists Railyard (I I May 1958). The Railyard were winning 3-6 to 2-4 when the game was abandoned. Railyard were awarded the title.

They met again in the finals of 1958 and 1959 but on both occasions lost to Railyard; 1958: 22 March 1959, Railyard 3-7; St. Nicholas' (Cotterstown-Kilmoganny) 1-5; 1959: 8 May 1960, Railyard 4-7; St. Nicholas' (Cotterstown-Kilmoganny) 2-3. In the junior championship they lost the southern final of 1958 to Slieverue (0-5 to 1-11) but beat Thomastown in the l959 final They won the southern final in 1958. Conahy beat them in the county final by 2-6 to 1-6.

The following year they again reached the county final, accounting for Kilmacow in the southern final after three games. The first was abandoned, the second ended 0-2 each and the third was awarded to St. Nicholas's because Kilmacow were 45 minutes late taking the field. They were narrowly beaten in the county final by Graigue in a replay (23 April, 0-7 to 1-4; 14 May, 1-7 to 1-5).

Success also came to Kilmoganny at U. 21 level and in recent years they have won three U.21 Roinn A titles.

P.S. As we go to print Kilmoganny will contest the 2000 Senior final against the winners of Dicksboro and Muckalee.

## Dick O'Shea

(A word of thanks to Patsy Hawe, a playing member of the 1945-46 team which won the Southern Junior Championship for his help and research).